HomeCloud-Native / NFVSparkle to speed cloud adoption for European research and education

    Sparkle to speed cloud adoption for European research and education


    The international carrier will offer cloud solutions and professional services to institutions in 27 countries.

    Sparkle has been chosen as an Open Clouds for Research Environment (OCRE) Cloud Framework provider by GÉANT, the pan-European network and services provider for research and education.

    Under the agreement, Sparkle will offer cloud solutions and professional services to R&E institutions in 27 countries.

    European scope

    The OCRE project was launched in 2019 by a consortium led by GÉANT and incorporating also CERN, RHEA and Trust-IT with the aim to enable and facilitate cloud adoption in the European research community.

    Sparkle qualified as a GÉANT selected provider for the 2016-2020 period.

    The OCRE Cloud Framework offers the R&E community a standardised contractual vehicle to simplify the purchase of solutions for over 10,000 research and education organisations through ready-to-use service agreements with cloud service providers and €9.5 million funding from the European Commission.

    Under the terms of the agreement, Sparkle will provide turnkey cloud solutions based on Google Cloud technologies, blended with professional services to support institutions in their move to the cloud.

    Multi-cloud services

    Sparkle’s competence centre will be augmented by Noovle, TIM Group’s new, wholly-owned centre of excellence for cloud and edge computing.

    Sparkle provides multi-cloud services across multiple public and private platforms along with management consoles and connectivity services to connect customers’ on-premises cloud facilities to the major public cloud providers through private, high speed and secure connections.

    The 27 European countries are Albania, Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, France, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Montenegro, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine and the United Kingdom.